First Radio

A couple days before I took my test I had also received my first radio. To start off I wanted to get on the 2Meter band being as I could talk phone right away with a Technician’s license and I would be more likely to make contacts on local repeaters than trying on 10meter sideband right off. I was skeptical at spending too much right away as I didn’t know enough about what was to be had out there without a further education.

So after reading quite a bit on forums and reviews I decide to give the very affordable BaoFeng UV5R+ a shot.

It is a tidy little Handheld with most the features you need or would want. Programmable via cable or keypad, scans frequencies or memory channels and even has a flashlight and a decent Fm broadcast radio.

I found the best price on Amazon  I picked up an programming cable, Mic and a TRAM model 1185 mobile dual band antenna for my Jeep. This is a lot of radio for 40 bucks is all I can say. 2Meters, 70CM bands. Can be used as police scanner, FMRS and MURS radio.

The stock software leaves a lot to be desired so I downloaded CHIRP and it works very well. I can load up repeaters from various sources and save the image of the radio etc. On my recent honeymoon through the Olympic Peninsula here in Washington State I was able to load up my radio with repeaters based on the counties I was going to be driving through.

I use this mostly at home with an outside antenna. Radioshack is among the many places you can get an adapter for this radio to connect to a PL-259. I built a couple different groundplane antennas that I have used to participate in a few local area Nets. I do have a little bit a trouble hitting all the repeaters which I thought was due to coax loss but a few tries in the car and just out in the yard with stock antenna I still feel a bit under powered.  I run into a lot of I can hear them but they can not hear me. I am keeping my eyes out for a mobile with a little more power or a linear amp.

I had picked up a Daiwa CN-103L SWR/Power meter from a friend and both of the antennas I have made tuned up nicely, so I will connect to the repeaters I can until I get a few more vhf/uhf watts under my belt.

-KG7FDJ

Leave a Reply

Eternal Orange

Tips and Tricks From James W LePage, KD2DVF

Hackaday

Fresh hacks every day

WREG3 Wx Geek

AMS Meteorologist Austen L. Onek - KG4GKE

Ham Radio Blog PD0AC

Thoughts of a Dutch radio amateur

K5SET Amateur Radio

A great Amateur Radio blog

YB6LD's Blog

A Blog about Ham radio, travel, good food and others

AMSAT-UK

Radio Amateur Satellites

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

Tech

News and reviews from the world of gadgets, gear, apps and the web

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

KG7FDJ

Journey of a HAM Radio Operator

